You are all cordially invited to our yearly Folkert Hellinga MSc award ceremony! Like last year, which was a great success, we are organizing the ceremony online. During this ceremony, three students will present their excellent MSc thesis. Please sign up by sending an email to  We will send you a link to the Microsoft Teams meeting space. The program you can find below. Be sure to follow us on LinkedIn and Facebook where we will already share the pitches that the nominees have made. We look forward to seeing you all!

For more information about the (history of) the award, please visit our designated page.

The meeting space will be available from 3:00 pm onwards. 

15:30h   Intro with video-pitches by the nominees

15:45h   Opening by Chair of Network Land and Water

15:50h   Welcome by the Chair of the MSc Award Committee

15:55h   Nominees present their thesis

  • Dieneke Eva de Weerd – A social network approach to examine dependencies, relationships, and influence in flood risk governance networks – The case of the Magdalena river basin in the Atlantico department in Colombia
  • Paul Vriend – The MARINA-Plastic model – Global river export of macro-and microplastics by source from sub-basins
  • Mary Belson Sauga – A study of non-revenue water in Tanzania – Assessment of leakage management strategies used by urban water supply utilities to reduce real water losses


16:15h   Reflection by Dr Bram de Vos, Managing Director of the Environmental Sciences Group

16.20h   Q&A

16:35h   MSc-award ceremony

16:45h   Closing by NLW-Chair